AACTA Award Winners: Nicole Kidman, Best Film “The Power of the Dog”


The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) has announced the winners of the 11th annual AACTA International Awards, with Nicole Kidman winning a seventh AACTA award for her portrayal of Lucille Ball in ‘Being the Ricardos’.

Jane Campion’s ‘The Power of the Dog’ topped the movie categories with three wins – Best Picture; best lead actor for Benedict Cumberbatch; and Best Supporting Actor for Australian actor Kodi Smit-McPhee.

‘Belfast’ star Judi Dench won Best Supporting Actress, while ‘Dune’ filmmaker Denis Villeneuve took home Best Film Direction. Aaron Sorkin won the Screenplay Award for his screenplay “Being the Ricardos”.

In the TV categories, fellow Australian of Kidman and Smit-McPhee, ‘The White Lotus’ star Murray Bartlett was named Best Actor in a Series, revealing his win exclusively to Variety Marc Malkin on his “Just For Variety” podcast.

“Your home country celebrating and acknowledging you is such a moving thing,” Bartlett told Malkin of receiving the honor. “I don’t spend as much time in Australia as I would like these days because work stuff has happened for me here, but this is my home and this is my people and I love this industry so much. and I love what this industry produces.”

“The White Lotus” also won Best Comedy Series, while “Succession” won Best Drama. Best Actress in a Series went to Kate Winslet for “Mare of Eastown.”

“I’ve always felt so supported by AACTA, I sometimes feel a bit like an honorary Aussie because you’ve recognized me before now and that still means a huge amount of being included, being integrated into your film community and television in this way means a lot,” said Winslet – who in 2015 won the AACTA award for best lead actress in a film for the Australian film ‘The Dressmaker’. “I have such admiration for the talent actors and filmmakers in Australia, so thank you.”

The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting, encouraging and celebrating on-screen excellence in Australia. For over 60 years, the AACTA Awards (formerly the AFI Awards) have recognized and celebrated Australia’s highest achievements in film, television, short films and digital content.

AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella congratulated this year’s winners.

“After another tough year for our industry, it’s fantastic that we’re able to honor the movies and TV shows that kept us entertained at a time when we needed them most,” Trewhella said. “The caliber of the nominees is exceptional and we are delighted with the Australian representation in both film and television.”

With the AACTA Awards supported by the NSW Government through its major tourism and events agency, Destination NSW, Stuart Ayres, NSW Minister for Tourism, also released a statement praising the winners.

“Sydney and NSW are home to some of the best filming locations in the world and have proven to be world-class destinations for screen production. It’s fantastic to see this creativity triumph over the adversity of recent times to deliver a incredible award-winning programming of film and television productions,” said Ayres. “The AACTA International Awards highlight the importance of the screen industry to the visitor economy of NSW, which we look forward to providing continued support for ensure its continued success.”

See the winners’ acceptance speeches via AACTA YouTube Channel and check out the full list of nominees below:


Best film
“Being the Ricardos”
“Licorice Pizza”
“The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)

Best Lead Actor
Benedict Cumberbatch – “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)
Caleb Landry Jones – “Nitram”
Andrew Garfield – “Tick, tick…Boom!”
Will Smith – “King Richard”
Denzel Washington – “The Tragedy of Macbeth”

Best Leading Actress
Penélope Cruz – “Parallel Mothers”
Lady Gaga – “House of Gucci”
Jennifer Hudson – “Respect”
Nicole Kidman – “Being the Ricardos” (WINNER)
Kristen Stewart- “Spencer”

Best Supporting Actor
Bradley Cooper – “Licorice Pizza”
Jamie Dornan – “Belfast”
Ciarán Hinds – “Belfast”
Al Pacino – “House of Gucci”
Kodi Smit-McPhee – “The Power of the Dog” (WINNER)

Best Supporting Actress
Caitriona Balfe – “Belfast”
Cate Blanchett – “Don’t Look Up”
Judi Dench – “Belfast” (WINNER)
Kirsten Dunst – “The Power of the Dog”
Sally Hawkins – “Spencer”

best steering
“Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh
“Dune” – Denis Villeneuve (WINNER)
“Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
“Nitram” – Justin Kurzel
“The Power of the Dog” – Jane Campion

Best Screenplay
“Being the Ricardos” – Aaron Sorkin (WINNER)
“Belfast” – Kenneth Branagh
“Licorice Pizza” – Paul Thomas Anderson
“Nitram” – Shaun Grant
“The Power of the Dog” – Jane Campion


Best Drama
“Easttown Mare”
“Nine Perfect Strangers”
“Squid Game”
“Succession” (WINNER)
“The Handmaid’s Tale”

Best Comedy
“Sex education”
“Ted Lasso”
“The Kominsky Method”
“The White Lotus” (WINNER)

Best Actor in a Series
Murray Bartlett – “The White Lotus” (WINNER)
Lee Jung-Jae – “Squid Game”
Ewan McGregor- “Halston”
Jeremy Strong – “Update”
Jason Sudeikis – “Ted Lasso”

Best Actress in a Series
Jennifer Coolidge – “The White Lotus”
Nicole Kidman – “Nine Perfect Strangers”
Jean Smart – “Hacks”
Sarah Snook – “Estate”
Kate Winslet – “Easttown Mare” (WINNER)


About Author

Comments are closed.