GLAAD Media Awards 2022 Winners List – Deadline


UPDATE, April 27: GLAAD, the world’s largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization, today announced that it will honor award-winning actor, producer and activist Wilson Cruz with the Vito Russo Award at of the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards at the Hilton Midtown in New York on Friday, May 6, 2022.

As previously announced, Emmy and Tony winner Judith Light will receive the Excellence in Media Award at the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards.

PREVIOUSLY: saved by the bell, Eternalsand hacks are among the honorees celebrated at the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards held in Los Angeles on Saturday.

Special prizes were also awarded to Laid Michaela Jaé Rodriguez, who received the Stephen F. Kolzak Award from Andrew Garfield, and Kacey Musgraves received the Vanguard Award.

The celebration was hosted by Bob the Drag Queen, Eureka O’Hara and DJ “Shangela” Pierce from the Emmy-nominated HBO series. We are here and featured a special performance by Jake Wesley Rogers.

The GLAAD Media Awards will stream via Hulu on April 16.

“This year’s GLAAD Media Awards come at a time when LGBTQ visibility and storytelling may be the frontline response to a dangerous rise in anti-LGBTQ legislation across the country,” said Sarah Kate Ellis, President- CEO of GLAAD.

Ellis continued, “Our nominees and winners, including Eternals, hacksand saved by the bell, We are hereand RuPaul’s Drag Race showcase the beautiful diversity of LGBTQ people. When we need them most, these stories speak out against hate, enlighten, entertain and send an undeniable message: we’re not going anywhere.

The full list of winners can be found below.

Best New TV Series: hacks (HBO Max)
Best Comedy Series: saved by the bell (Peacock)
Outstanding Film – Wide Distribution: Eternals (Walt Disney Studios Cinema)
Exceptional reality program: RuPaul’s Drag Race (VH1) and We are here (HBO) Tie
Outstanding Documentary: Change the game (Hulu)
Best TV Movie: Single until the end (Netflix)
Outstanding Film – Limited Release: Parallel mothers (Sony Pictures Classics)
Limited or exceptional anthology series: It’s a sin (HBOMAX)
Outstanding Video Game: Life is Strange: True Colors (Deck Nine Games/Square Enix)
Outstanding comic: Crush & Lobo (DC Comics)
Best Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: Comfort! love and pompoms (OniPress)
Outstanding Overall Magazine Coverage: The Advocate
Outstanding Breakthrough Musical Artist: Lily Rose, Stronger than me (Big Loud Records/Back Blocks Music/Republic Records)
Best Scripted Television Series in Spanish: Maricon Lost (HBO Max)
Best television journalism in the Spanish language: “Orgullo LGBTQ: 52 years of lucha y evolution” (Telemundo 47)
Special Recognition: Not All Boys Are Blue by George M. Johnson [filmed reading + performance]
Special Recognition: “Alok Vaid-Menon” 4D with Demi Lovato (Cadence13/OBB Sound/SB Projects)
Special Recognition: CODED: The Hidden Love of JC Leyendecker (Paramount+)
Special Recognition: Danger! Champ Amy Schneider
Special Recognition: The Laverne Cox Show (Shondaland Audio/iHeartMedia)
Special Recognition: Life Out Loud with LZ Granderson (ABC News)
Special recognition: Outsports coverage of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games
Special Recognition (Spanish): “Celebrando el Mes del Orgullo” (Telemundo)


About Author

Comments are closed.