Iqbal signs the Bangsamoro Education Code IRR

Minister of Education Mohagher Iqbal signed on August 2, 2022 the rules and regulations implementing the Bangsamoro Education Code in Davao City. Behind Iqbal are (LR) Director General of Higher Education (DG) Marjunni Maddi, DG of Technical Education Ruby Andong, Deputy Minister Haron Meling, DG of Basic Education Abdullah Salik, Jr .and Madaris Education DG Tahir Nalg. Photo by MindaNews courtesy of MBHTE

KORONADAL CITY (MindaNews/August 03) – One year after the Bangsamoro Transitional Authority (BTA) enacted the Bangsamoro Education Code (BEC), Education Minister Mohagher Iqbal on Tuesday signed its rules and implementing regulations (IRR), an official said Wednesday.

Mobarak Pandi, spokesperson for the Ministry of Basic, Higher and Technical Education (MBHTE), noted that the formulation of the IRR is mandated by the BEC, which the BTA enacted on May 18, 2021.

“The IRR is the product of a series of consultations with various stakeholders in the education community in Bangsamoro,” he said in a statement.

It aims to complement the provisions of the BEC and provide concrete mechanisms for its effective implementation “so that no Bangsamoro child is left behind in the pursuit of a quality, accessible, inclusive and liberating education”, said he added.

The IRR applies to all combinations or activities of persons or entities representing the Bangsamoro education system, including those relating to formal, non-formal and informal public and private educational institutions at all levels such as the basic, higher, technical and medersa education. , said Pandi.

He said the Education Code IRR will be available 15 days after it is published in a local newspaper.

The education code is one of three priority pieces of legislation approved by the BTA, the interim body that governs the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM). The other two are the administration and civil service codes.

Republic Act 11054 or the BARMM Organic Law, commonly referred to as the Bangsamoro Organic Law, mandates the adoption of seven priority codes during the three-year transition period.

During the opening of the fourth ordinary session of the BTA in June, the Acting Chief Minister of Bangsamoro, Ahod “Al Haj Murad” Ebrahim, pledged to prioritize the remaining four priority measures, namely the local governance code, the law on the rights of indigenous peoples, the electoral code and the tax code. .

The transition period in the Bangsamoro region was due to end on June 30, 2022 when the new group of elected officials will be sworn in.

In October 2021, former President Rodrigo Duterte, however, endorsed the cancellation of parliamentary elections in the Bangsamoro region, which effectively extended the BTA’s mandate by three years until June 2025.

Ebrahim said the “government of the day” has improved its 12-point priority program for 2023-2025, which includes a stronger BARMM bureaucracy; digital infrastructure and e-governance; income generation and economic comparative advantage; agro-fishing productivity and food security; investments in transport, communications and other strategic infrastructure; universal social protection and health care; disaster resilience and climate change adaptation; quality and holistic education; support for the rehabilitation of Marawi; peace, justice and security; and Bangsamoro Culture, Heritage and Diversity.

“This 12-point priority program will shape our region’s budget, legislation, programs and policies as we move into the next chapter of the transition period,” Ebrahim said in a press release from the press office of the city. BTA.

During the third ordinary session, 120 bills and 286 resolutions were tabled in plenary. Of these, six bills and 92 resolutions were approved, he said. (MidaNews)


About Author

Comments are closed.