NRLW: Parramatta Eels, Gayle Broughton, former New Zealand rugby sevens star among new faces of Parramatta’s NRLW squad for 2022 season


Parramatta has found his replacement for injured full-back Botille Vette-Welsh with former New Zealand rugby sevens star Gayle Broughton, the latest player to code-switch and sign with the club.

Broughton, an Olympic gold medalist who finished in the rugby sevens program earlier this year after seven seasons, played for Constabulary in the Harvey Norman NSW Premiership.

The 25-year-old has come into her own since the start of her league run with four tries in five games ahead of an eventual NRLW debut in August.

With Vette-Welsh sidelined for the rest of the year after rupturing his ACL in March, Broughton is expected to fill his shoes in the No. 1 jersey.

Parramatta confirmed Broughton among an 18-player signing announcement on Wednesday night that had several personnel changes from their inaugural campaign.

Gayle Broughton scoring a try while playing for the Black Ferns in rugby sevens

NSW Origin representatives Tiana Penitani, Filomina Hanisi and Kennedy Cherrington will return as key players for the second season while Ellie Johnston, Abbi Church, Rikeya Horne, Christian Pio, Seli Mailangi and Tess Staines have also been retained.

Former Roosters striker Vanessa Foliaki has secured her first NRLW contract since 2020, joining the club after a two-year absence.

Uncapped players include former rugby sevens player Brooke Anderson, Ruby-Jean Kennard, Ash Quinlan, Taylor Preston and Rima Butler.

Carlton AFLW star Brooke Walker, who grew up playing rugby league, was announced as a key signing by the club last week.

Former NSW and Australia representative Vanessa Foliaki is also back in the NRLW.

Former NSW and Australia representative Vanessa Foliaki is also back in the NRLW.
©Nathan Hopkins/NRL Photos

Among the unsigned players are Kiwi hooker Nita Maynard, who signed with a rival club, and Fatahesi Hanisi, who was also signed by another franchise.

Others without a deal include former NSW half-back Maddie Studdon, Therese Aiton, Emily Curtain, Jocephy Daniels, Sereana Naitokatoka, Taina Navidi, Tommaya Kelly-Sines and Christine Pauli.

The Eels have four more players to announce before two more can be signed by August.

It is understood that inaugural captain Simaima Taufa is one of four players expected to be announced by the club soon.

Eels 2022 NRLW squad (so far)

  • Tiana Penitani
  • Filomina Hanissi
  • Kennedy Cherington
  • Gayle Broughton
  • vanessa foliaki
  • Ellie Johnson
  • Abbi’s Church
  • Ash Quinlan
  • Rikeya Horne
  • Brooke Anderson
  • Rueben Cherrington
  • Seli Mailangi
  • Tess Stains
  • Brooke Walker
  • Christian Pie
  • Taylor Preston
  • Rima Butler
  • Ruby Jean Kennard

About Author

Comments are closed.