Race near Timaru to reach blistering speeds

Former Christchurch National MX1 Motocross Champion Justin Macdonald (Honda) is expected to be among the top riders in this year's New Zealand National TT Motocross Championships.

Andy McGechan / BikesportNZ.com

Former Christchurch National MX1 Motocross Champion Justin Macdonald (Honda) is expected to be among the top riders in this year’s New Zealand National TT Motocross Championships.

It combines power and heroism, requires both audacity and bravery, combines speed and endurance and torque and technique.

The annual New Zealand TT Motocross National Championships will be held near Timaru on Saturday and Sunday, and the racing will be breathtaking on the mostly flat grassland course.

The entry list for the two-day event includes the stars of motocross, cross-country, enduro and maybe even a few road racing heroes as they battle it out on the track at the 227 Munro Rd, Pareora, just south of Timaru.

“We are grateful to the South Canterbury Motorcycle Club for agreeing to host the National TT Championships,” said Motorcycling New Zealand Motocross Commissioner Lindsey Heileson.

“We are delighted that so many runners are supporting this event. It’s been two great days. Camping is available on the trail, so it’s more of a fun, family atmosphere. It’s nice to be able to offer a motocross encounter in more natural terrain for MNZ members.

Heileson said it would be “a great race weekend for everyone involved.”

“Good to see the event well supported by runners from the North Island and South Island. It shows us that the sport is in good shape and that runners still want to get out there and run.

“This event caters to a wide variety of motorcycling codes and a wide range of competitors. It should be a great show.”

South Island riders are expected to be front and center including Christchurch couple Justin Macdonald and Marshall Phillips, Invercargill’s Jack Symon, Otautau’s Jack Treloar, Timaru’s Josh May and father and son couple Balclutha, David and Madison Latta.

Inglewood’s Renny Johnston was notable winning the premier MX1 ​​class when the TT Nationals were held at Taupiri, north of Hamilton last season, while Te Aroha’s Luke van der Lee was unbeaten in the MX2 class.

Auckland’s Damon Nield was unstoppable in the senior 125cc class and the enduro class as well, while Hamilton’s Mikayla Rowe dominated the senior women’s class.

Ticayla Manson of Rotorua narrowly won the Junior Ladies 12-16 150cc and 250cc classes last year, while Ruby Leach of Waimauku also narrowly won the Junior Ladies 8-16 85cc and 150cc classes.

With races for 10 separate championship classes over the two days, as well as support classes and mini-classes taking place, the term ‘flat track’ can be a little misleading, as it expects it will be hard and rutted by the end of Sunday afternoon, when the rider’s physical condition will play as much of a role in the results as the riders’ bravery, skill or power advantage.

Access to the track is via Pooke Rd, Pareora and will be signposted from the Caltex Pareora fuel stop on State Highway 1.


About Author

Comments are closed.